top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChazzRG

" ... sat before the Lord, ..."



The meeting between David and the prophet Nathan that is explained in II Samuel 7 might be considered as one of the most important encounters detailed within Israel's rich kingly history. It is an account that sets out the beginning of the building of the temple and of the Davidic covenant, both of which had a profound effect on Israel for many centuries. There is no question in my mind that this chapter contains deep theological insights. I thoroughly enjoy delving into the Word of God and seeing where His Spirit leads me.


Given the overall purpose of II Samuel chapter 7, I want to drill down to one particular phrase in a verse. It is a phrase that speaks volumes to me. In II Samuel 7:18, it says, "Then went king David in, and sat before the Lord, ..." So, throughout David's entire life, he never abandoned his humility and trust in the Lord. Scriptures proves this when David defeated the giant Goliath, and in dealing with the consequences of his personal sins like murder and adultery. In David's most devastating failures, he completely trusted in God. Furthermore, David knew how to worship and praise God even in the his darkest valley. Also, David did not allow tragic mistakes (sin) to keep him from approaching God.


In v. 18 ... David sat, in prayer, before the Lord. Then in vv. 19-29, the scriptures reveal what was in his heart: worship and praise. In other words, David did not open his prayer with a petition, but only worship and praise to his King. He marveled at the wonder of God. David was being still (worship and praise) before the Lord. He worshipped and praised because there is no one like God. He praised God because there is no one beside Him. He possessed an awe and wonder about God's plan for the remaining years of his life. While David sat in the presence of God, he stood on the promises of God. David did not even question as to why he was not going to build the temple. In other words, David accepted God's decision and praised God for that final decision.


I am so thankful that I can approach God when life does not make sense or when I stumble. God will not turn me away; not even the slightest ... for we are in covenant together. I can sit (or stand, kneel, pace) before God in prayer, and have an open and honest conversation with Him. Here's a truth: Be open, honest, and transparent about your present reality with Jesus. Whatever your present reality is ... just talk to Him about it. Jesus can affect your reality ... only if you LET Him. But ... what He will NOT affect ... is your fake. (That was a free quote to you ... at no extra charge!)


I can stand on His promises knowing He will hear me and forgive me. I am in awe of the wonder of God. He is so great. He is so mighty. He is so worthy. Even if God does not give me a reason as to why some things in this present life do not make any sense ... I will not question Him.


The prophet Isaiah declares the words of Almighty God: "For my thoughts are not your thoughts neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts" (Isaiah 55: 8-9). Amen.


So, I will trust and praise God. What an example by David! No wonder he was a man after God's own heart (Acts 13:22). I desire to go sit before Jesus, my King and my God ... and worship Him ... for awhile.


God bless you,

CRG




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page